Madness: Absolutely – [Record 64]

Madness: Absolutely.

Absolutely is the 1980 second album from the British ska band Madness. It peaked at No. 2 in the UK album charts.

The album is named after one of expressions of the band’s then tour manager, and sound man Tony Duffield.

In 2009 and 2010, Madness re-released their entire back catalogue of studio albums up until 1999’s Wonderful with a bonus CD and extra tracks. The re-release of Absolutely has seven bonus tracks plus an additional CD featuring a 1980 concert recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon.

Side One.
1, Baggy Trousers.
2, Embarrassment.
3, E.R.N.I.E..
4, Close Escape.
5, Not Home Today.
6, On the Beat Pete.
7, Solid Gone.

Side Two.
8, Take It or Leave It.
9, Shadow of Fear.
10, Disappear.
11, Overdone.
12, In the Rain.
13, You Said.
14, The Return of the Los Palmas 7.

The Wiki.

Cover: The front cover sees the band standing in front of Chalk Farm tube station in Camden. When the original vinyl was released the first, more sombre, cover photograph was changed to a more animated pose after around 10,000 albums were pressed. The two sleeves can be distinguished by Mike Barson’s holding of the umbrella: in the earlier pressing he holds it up to his chin while in the later, and subsequently used, releases the umbrella is on the ground.

The inner sleeve features a London Underground-style roundel for a railway station called “Cairo East” on one side (this roundel later reappeared in the video for “(Waiting For) The Ghost Train” and a history of the group on the other.

Write Something

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s