The Rolling Stones: England’s Newest Hit Makers – [Record 186]

The Rolling Stones: England’s Newest Hit Makers.

The Rolling Stones is the debut album by The Rolling Stones, released by Decca Records in the UK on 16 April 1964. The American edition of the LP, with a slightly different track list, came out on London Records on 30 May 1964, with the added title England’s Newest Hit Makers.

Side One.
1. Not Fade Away.
2. Route 66.
3. I Just Want to Make Love to You.
4. Honest I Do.
5. Now I’ve Got a Witness.
6. Little by Little.

Side Two.
7. I’m a King Bee.
8. Carol.
9. Tell Me.
10. Can I Get a Witness.
11. You Can Make It If You Try
12. Walking the Dog.

The Wiki.

Recording and releases: Recorded at Regent Sound Studios in London over the course of five days in January and February 1964, The Rolling Stones was produced by then-managers Andrew Loog Oldham and Eric Easton. The album was originally released by Decca Records in the UK, while the US version appeared on the London Records label.

The majority of the tracks reflect the band’s love for R&B. Mick Jagger and Keith Richards (whose professional name until 1978 omitted the “s” in his surname) were fledgling songwriters during early 1964, contributing only one original composition to the album: “Tell Me (You’re Coming Back)”. Two songs are credited to “Nanker Phelge” – a pseudonym the band used for group compositions from 1963 to 1965. Phil Spector and Gene Pitney both contributed to the recording sessions, and are referred to as “Uncle Phil and Uncle Gene” in the subtitle of the Phelge instrumental “Now I’ve Got a Witness.”

The album cover photo was taken by Nicholas Wright. The cover bears no title or identifying information other than the photo and the Decca logo – an “unheard of” design concept originated by manager Andrew Oldham.

Upon its release, The Rolling Stones became one of 1964’s biggest sellers in the UK, staying at No. 1 for twelve weeks.

The original British version is out-of-print on CD. In November 2010, it was made available as part of a limited edition vinyl box set titled The Rolling Stones 1964–1969, and by itself digitally at the same time. The album was only released in mono in both the UK and US; no true stereo mix was ever made.

American release: The Rolling Stones, subtitled England’s Newest Hit Makers, is the American debut album by the Rolling Stones, released by London Records on 30 May 1964.

The track “Not Fade Away” (the A-side of the band’s third UK single) replaced “Mona (I Need You Baby)”. Upon its release, England’s Newest Hitmakers reached No. 11 in the US, going gold in the process. To date, this is the only one of the Stones’ American studio albums that failed to place in the top five on the Billboard album charts.

In August 2002, England’s Newest Hitmakers was reissued as a new remastered CD and SACD digipak by ABKCO.

Write Something

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s